BeIntelligent - Showcase: AI for the mobility of the future based on platform economy

Artificial intelligence (AI) is revolutionizing the mobility of the future. Traffic is becoming more efficient, safer and more environmentally friendly, enabling mobility and logistics that are accessible to everyone, are demand-oriented, and are nevertheless cost-effective. Target-driven testing in real test environments and demonstration to the public with the participation of all citizens increases visibility for society, business, politics and science, thus creating a showcase effect. Only such a showcase project can create acceptance and trust at an early stage, realize adequate usage behavior and promote social dialogue. Furthermore, additional fields of action will be identified, since not all questions from society, politics, etc. are known today and need to be clarified at an early stage.

The innovative approach of the project is to build a software stack with AI methods for autonomous driving and logistics, which uses machine learning methods to capture (perception) and foresee (prediction) the current situation. This can be used in different scenarios and areas of application. It makes it possible to equip vehicles with their own intelligence and implement additional capabilities such as planning and monitoring. With the help of the innovative approach of distributed intelligence, a vehicle can expand its own perception into areas that it does not capture locally.

The digitization of the infrastructure for autonomous driving is one of the main goals of the project. The ultimate goal is to make the data from all infrastructure components, processes and users available on a common digital platform. The data is of crucial importance for AI and management platforms in order to enable safe autonomous driving scenarios and coordinated interactions between the actors (i.e. drivers, passengers, service providers, authorities). The intelligent solution is implemented on three levels: digitization of the infrastructure, AI-enabled intelligent processes and a global digital platform with associated tools. Each level of the software stack to be developed must take into account the heterogeneous and cross-domain technologies that support automated and connected driving and the interaction between stakeholders. Data of different levels of granularity, AI models and services are to be made available in such a way that the establishment of new business models and ecosystems is stimulated. This is intended to lay the foundation for platform economy in the field of mobility and transport.

Overview
Project Acronym:
BeIntelli
Project Title:
BeIntelligent
Duration:
01/01/2021 ⇢ 06/30/2023
Website:
Contact person:
Sahin Albayrak
Keywords:
Autonomous Driving, Edge Computing, Intelligent Vehicles
Competence Centers:
Application Centers:
Sponsors:
BMVI_Logo_eng

BeIntelligent - Schaufenster: KI für die Mobilität der Zukunft auf Basis von Plattformökonomie

Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) revolutioniert die Mobilität der Zukunft. Der Verkehr wird effizienter, sicherer und umweltfreundlicher und ermöglicht eine für jede Person verfügbare, flächendeckende, bedarfsgerechte und trotzdem kostengünstige Mobilität und Logistik. Durch zielgerichtete Erprobung in realen Testumgebungen und die Demonstration in der Öffentlichkeit unter Beteiligung aller Bürger wird die Sichtbarkeit für die Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik und Wissenschaft erhöht und somit eine Schaufensterwirkung erzielt. Nur durch ein solches Schaufensterprojekt wird frühzeitig Akzeptanz und Vertrauen geschaffen, adäquates Nutzungsverhalten realisiert und der gesellschaftliche Dialog gefördert. Zudem werden zusätzliche Handlungsfelder identifiziert, da heute längst nicht alle Fragestellungen aus Gesellschaft, Politik usw. bekannt sind und frühzeitig geklärt werden müssen.

Der innovative Ansatz des Vorhabens ist, einen Softwarestack mit Methoden der KI für autonomes Fahren und Logistik aufzubauen, welcher Methoden des Maschinellen Lernens verwendet, um die aktuelle Situation zu erfassen (Perzeption) und vorherzusehen (Prädiktion). Dieser kann auf unterschiedlichen Szenarien und Einsatzgebieten angewendet werden. Er ermöglicht es, Fahrzeuge mit eigener Intelligenz auszustatten und zusätzliche Fähigkeiten wie Planung und Überwachung umzusetzen. Mit Hilfe des innovativen Ansatzes der verteilten Intelligenz kann ein Fahrzeug seine eigene Perzeption in Bereiche erweitern, die es lokal nicht erfasst.

Die Digitalisierung der Infrastruktur für autonomes Fahren ist hierfür eines der Hauptziele des Projekts. Das ultimative Ziel besteht darin, die Daten von allen Infrastrukturkomponenten, -prozessen und -benutzern auf einer gemeinsamen digitalen Plattform verfügbar zu machen. Die Daten sind für KI- und Managementplattformen von entscheidender Bedeutung, um sichere autonome Fahrszenarien und koordinierte Interaktionen zwischen den Akteuren (d.h. Fahrern, Passagieren, Dienstleistern, Behörden) zu ermöglichen. Die Umsetzung der intelligenten Lösung erfolgt auf drei Ebenen: Digitalisierung der Infrastruktur, KI-fähige intelligente Prozesse und eine globale digitale Plattform mit zugehörigen Werkzeugen. Jede Ebene des somit zu entwickelnden Softwarestacks muss die heterogenen und domänenübergreifenden Technologien berücksichtigen, die das automatisierte und vernetzte Fahren und die Interaktion zwischen den Stakeholdern unterstützen. Daten unterschiedlicher Granularität, KI-Modelle und Services sollen so bereitgestellt werden können, sodass die Etablierung neuer Geschäftsmodelle und Ökosysteme begünstigt wird. Damit soll der Grundstein für Plattformökonomie in der Mobilität gelegt werden.

Steckbrief
Projektkürzel:
BeIntelli
Projekttitel:
BeIntelligent
Laufzeit:
01.01.2021 ⇢ 30.06.2023
Ansprechpartner:
Sahin Albayrak
Schlagworte:
Autonomes Fahren, Dienstplattform, Edge Computing, Intelligente Fahrzeuge
Kompetenzzentren:
Anwendungszentren:
Förderer:
BMVI_Logo_de